Too Anxious to Sleep? A Weighted Blanket Might Help!

Photo by Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

I’ve always had a thing for unusual coping methods.

When I’m stressed, I reach for bubble wrap. I pop each bubble until my stress subsides. Too bad it riles other people up at the same time.

When I’m frustrated, I pick up a tennis ball (more on this another time) and bounce it against the wall. Too bad it riles other people up at the same time.

Looks like it’s time for me to find some other coping method, eh?

One day, I had trouble sleeping. My job, the pandemic, the endless lockdowns. I lost precious rest at night and during the day, I was grumpy and groggy and easily irritable.

I went online to find an answer and one of the websites suggested using a weighted blanket. Hold up! Weighted blankets? Wouldn’t it weigh you down even more like an anchor in bed?

You know what? It wasn’t so bad after all!

weight-ing to fall asleep

My husband found one (surprise, surprise) at his company’s warehouse sale and it was the best thing ever! But damn, it was really heavy! I can’t pull it up with one hand when I’m in bed. I always have to use my legs to manoeuvre the blanket or God forbid, I might sprain my wrist trying to get cosy!

I’ve been using it for half a year now and I have to admit that my sleep quality has improved. It doesn’t matter what time I sleep or how long I sleep but those days right up to today, I can honestly say that I have been sleeping like a baby.

The sleep quality I get is tight and solid. I don’t toss and turn as much as I used to and the weighted blanket wraps around me snugly for the night. If you suffer from anxiety and stress which then affects your sleep cycles at night, you should try and get one.

If you’re not sure what it could do for you and don’t want to take my word for it, here’s what Harvard Health Publishing has to say about how a weighted blanket can help with stress and anxiety.

swaddling may not be your idea of a cocoon

Here’s the thing: If you are suffering from mental health issues or have sleep disorders, I suggest you check in with your doctor. Medical expert advice is a must, especially if you want to try weighted blanket therapy on your kids.

If you are trying it out for yourself, I would advise you to be realistic about your expectations. Results can vary from one adult to another. It may have helped me sleep well, but it could be a different story for you.

There may be better, evidence-based solutions for your sleepy struggles, or if you have chronic insomnia and not general anxiety or sleep affected by work or a stressful life.

Having said all that, ever since I’ve started working from home in the cosy confines of my bedroom, I’ve often heard the whale call of my weighted blanket. It is really tempting to dive in under it, read my Kindle, and fall asleep.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started